//
you're reading...
Community, Leadership and women, Not for profit communications, Uncategorized, YMCA related

A new career chapter with a ‘young at heart’ organisation


Tomorrow I embark on the next chapter of my career.

I take up my first executive management role – in my mid 40s. Exciting!

I did run my own small business for 11 years, so in some ways I’ve been ‘at the table’ (sometimes quite literally the kitchen table!) before.

And I like to think I’ve ‘been the table’ on many critical occasions – both professionally and personally – using the wisdom and experience accumulated along life’s crooked path to provide insight and advice.

However, this is definitely a step up and I’m both excited and a little nervous – mostly excited.

Since I ran my own business I’ve grown personally – getting married, losing my mum, having a family, navigating kids through early years of pre-school and interventions and successfully off to school, enduring an agonizing ‘builder going broke’ renovation: the whole wild, mad, crazy juggle of it all.

And I’ve grown professionally: learning how to be effective and have impact inside a complex, growing, dynamic, not for profit.

From a relatively junior part-time two day a week ‘toe back in the water’ role with YMCA Victoria post parenthood when my confidence and ambitions were small (the shock of parenthood can do that to some), over time I was able to gradually navigate a path to management as my children grew, I grew and the YMCA grew.

Not surprisingly to anyone who’s followed my blog or regular tweets, I haven’t flown far.

I’m still with the YMCA, only with the national office at YMCA Australia.

My career journey with the Y strikes me as the essence of what the YMCA stands for.

In my time with the Y, I’ve been empowered to grow, to lead, to shine – and along the way I’ve tried to light the leadership fire in others, both young and young at heart.

Globally, ‘the Y’ may be over 160 years old, but it’s definitely young at heart, constantly evolving with the times to remains relevant to local communities and having social impact in 119 countries.

This Saturday the YMCA is aiming to create a world record, aiming to have 5 million people taking part in the YMCA World Challenge – a basketball activity event.

I’ll be at one of the 30 YMCA managed centres hosting an event in Melbourne, throwing a few hoops at a ring, enjoying being part of something inspiring taking part right across the globe from Africa and Asia to Europe and the United States.

Think I’m going to enjoy the new gig!

Follow me @DiFromTheY and @YMCAAustralia

My daughter Bianca and her friends Samson and Daniel, getting ready for the YMCA World Challenge on Saturday 13 October.

About Di from the Y

Dianne McDonald is Executive Manager of Communications with YMCA Australia, and a parent of two primary school aged children, one with additional needs (Asperger Syndrome). She has a strong interest in sharing life's learnings with others.

Discussion

One thought on “A new career chapter with a ‘young at heart’ organisation

  1. So excited for you Di – huge congratulations. A xx

    Posted by Annette Maloney | October 9, 2012, 5:43 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,396 hits

Twitter Updates

